Ondo State Assembly Suspends Lawmakers for not Signing Impeachment Notice Against Deputy Gov.

Ondo state house of Assembly
The Ondo State House of Assembly has suspended some lawmakers for refusal to sign an impeachment notice against the deputy governor, Hon Agboola Ajayi.

The lawmakers who have been suspended for refusal to sign the impeachment notice against the deputy governor include Deputy Speaker; Hon Ogundeji Iroju, the only woman; Favour Tomomowo and the only Zenith Labour Party (ZLP) member in the Assembly, Hon Tomide Akinribido and Wale Williams.

A member of the house, Hon Success Torhukerhijo who is representing Ese- Odo constituency has been making proposals on the intimidating suspension of some of his Co - lawmakers, and the Speaker; Rt Hon. David Oleyeloogun has set up some committee to monitor his alleged castigations against the suspensions.

Also Read: Obaseki Campaigns For The Forthcoming Gubernatorial Election in Edo State.

Hon Success Torhukerhijo, with the fear that he may be suspended like his Co - lawmakers has went and seek for the protection of the court from falling a victim of the suspensions.

According to news, Hon Torhukerhijo, who sought for the protection of the court has been granted an order ex-parte by Justice Ademola Bola, as a result of his request, and the justice has restrained other members of the house from suspending the lawmaker as a member of the House.

The order given by Justice Bola, includes that the lawmaker must not be denied his benefits as a member of the house, as well as his constitutional duties.

No comments: